Meeting of the Minds - Week ending October 2, 2020

Alerts and other info from the MRF

10/4/2020 9:37:40 AM
View user profile for BillBrews
Total Posts 714
Ride Free, Ride Often

Meeting of the Minds - Week ending October 2, 2020





Your Weekly Biker Bulletin from Inside the Beltway

Your Motorcycle Riders Foundation team in Washington, D.C. is pleased to provide our members with the latest information and updates on issues that impact the freedom and safety of American street motorcyclists. Count on your MRF to keep you informed about a range of matters that are critical to the advancement of motorcycling and its associated lifestyle. Published weekly when the U.S. Congress is in session.













Meeting of the Minds

If you weren’t one of the over 300 Motorcycle Riders Foundation members at this year’s Meeting of the Minds (MOTM) in Indianapolis, you missed a great time! Over two full days, riders from around the nation attended presentations on everything from developing strategic organizational plans to learning about public relations in a changing world.

Most importantly, MOTM is about building and growing relationships between bikers. This once a year event allows lifelong friends to reconnect and is an opportunity to make new friends. The event also allows bikers from different states to shares stories and ideas for protecting and defending our cherished freedoms.

A special thanks to Fred Harrell, Director of Conferences, ABATE of Indiana and all the other volunteers for their hard work pulling off this event. We look forward to another great event next year in Georgia!



U.S. Senator Speaks to Bikers

The capstone of the weekend is the banquet on Saturday night. This year, thanks to the work of ABATE of Indiana, U.S. Senator Todd Young spoke at the banquet. A member of the Senate Committee on Commerce Science and Transportation, Senator Young discussed the importance of passing an infrastructure bill that will help rebuild our roads and bridges.

As a former United States Marine, he spoke passionately about the need to protect freedom of speech and expression. He closed by talking about his hope that even in these trying times, we can come together and start to heal some of this nation’s wounds. Thank you, Senator Young, for your powerful words.



International Attendee

Now MOTM will never be confused with the United Nations but this year we had a special international guest. Phillip E.P. Woods II from ABATE of Liberia flew all the way from Africa to attend the event! A few lucky attendees walked away with ABATE of Liberia t-shirts and Phillip presented MRF Vice President Jay Jackson with a Liberia Flag. You never know who you will run into at MOTM!







It wouldn’t be a MOTM without awards. Below is a list of 2020 award winners from around the country. These award winners have demonstrated a commitment to motorcyclists, and we thank them for their tireless efforts.







Thomas Paine Award: “Pastor Jack” Smith

Founders/Old Timers Award: Wanda Hummel Schultz

Lifetime Achievement Award: Deborah Butitta

Presidents Cup: Amy Allmon and Big Dave Monroe

Farmers Award: Mark Winslow

State Legislative Awards: ABATE of Wisconsin, Freedom of Road Riders, ABATE of Idaho, ABATE of North Idaho, ABATE of South Dakota

Federal Legislative Awards: ABATE of Ohio, Texas, ABATE of Michigan, ABATE of Pennsylvania, Alabama Dixie ABATE

MRF PAC Awards: ABATE of Michigan







Membership Awards: ABATE of Wisconsin, Kentucky Motorcycle Association, ABATE of Michigan

MRF Legislative Champions: Senator Gary Peters, Michigan and Representative Troy Balderson, Ohio

Ron Shepard Award: ICMS, ABATE of North Idaho

Deb Butitta Award: Jennifer DeWitz

MRF Reps Awards: Thomas Rahn (Jinx), Jennifer DeWitz, Andy Kelly, Gary Goracke, Dennis Yeager, Amy Allmon, Cindy Hodges, Skee Dodson, Lenny Young, Dale Dedrick

MRF Board Support Awards: Ryan Hubbard-support from ABATE of Illinois, Todd & Dawn Riba-support from ABATE of Minnesota, Fred Harrell-self funded, Cindy Hodges-support from CBA/ABATE of North Carolina, Doc D’Errico-self funded, Kirk Willard & Dave Dwyer-support from ABATE of Wisconsin, Deborah Butitta-self funded, Shelly Holcomb-support from ABATE of South Carolina, Deb Craig-support from ABATE of Colorado, Helen Wesson-self funded, Mark Buckner-self funded, Dave Cazel-support from ABATE of N. Idaho, Russell Radke-self funded, Dave Monroe-support from Alaska Coalition of Clubs, Duane Justus-self funded

MRF Hall of Fame Inductees: Wanda Hummel-Shultz, "Biker" Jim Rhoades, Lee Ryan, Marc Falsetti, Gary Klinker, Charlie Williams, Dave Dwyer, "Radio" Bob Letourneau, "Farmer" John Eggers, Michael "Boz” Kerr







About Motorcycle Riders Foundation

The Motorcycle Riders Foundation (MRF) provides leadership at the federal level for states’ motorcyclists’ rights organizations as well as motorcycle clubs and individual riders. The MRF is chiefly concerned with issues at the national and international levels that impact the freedom and safety of American street motorcyclists. The MRF is committed to being a national advocate for the advancement of motorcycling and its associated lifestyle and works in conjunction with its partners to help educate elected officials and policymakers in Washington and beyond.



All Information contained in this release is copyrighted. Reproduction permitted with attribution. Motorcycle Riders Foundation. All rights reserved. Ride With The Leaders™ by joining the MRF at or call (202) 546-0983  

You are receiving this message because you opted in at ; If you choose to not receive these alerts moving forward, please click the unsubscribe button or contact the office at:


Site Map | Printable View | © 2005 - 2020 South Carolina Motorcycle Rights Association LLC | Powered by mojoPortal | HTML 5 | CSS | Design by mitchinson